Australias Immigration Department announces changes to ‘regional areas’

In March this year, the Australian government announced that it would increasingly focus on shifting skilled migration intake to regional areas of Australia. Subsequently the Government is increasing the total number of regional places in this financial year to 25,000.

The definition of regional Australia for migration purposes will also change. E.g. Perth and the Gold Coast will no longer be classified as major cities. The new definition will come into effect on 16 November.

Locations outside of Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane will have access to the 25,000 visa places, priority processing and international university graduates who live in these locations will be eligible to apply for more time in Australia on a post-study work visa. 

If you are in interested in these new opportunities for skilled migrants to Australia please don’t hesitate to contact our migration agent to book a consultation and discuss your options.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: